Famous Seth Wards of the World

I was sent a note about this book, with the following description

Pirate Treasure (The Kansas Pirates Saga, book one)

By Kotar Gessler
Series: Kansas Pirates Saga, Book 1. Price: $4.99 USD. Words: 102,380. Language: English. Published: January 29, 2014 by Tirgearr Publishing. Category: Fiction » Romance » HistoricalThe townspeople of Lawrence, Kansas, want nothing to do with widower Seth Ward or his two children. Barbara Nelander answers a help-wanted ad and finds herself living in the shadow of a dead woman and the haunting of her son. Nelander transforms the Ward home into a figurative pirate ship and uses her wiles to bring peace to the family. The harsh Kansas summer threatens all they fight to preserve.

I’ll recommend this book to anyone who wants to understand me better!

And maybe my wife will ask me to see if we can get a cut of the royalties.

I am, nevertheless prouder of Seth Ward, Bishop of Salisbury (d. 1689), who was among other things a Hebraist along the lines of people like Selden and Milton and others of his time.

There was also the Methodist Bishop (d. 1909) from Texas, after whom a college in the Texas panhandle was named; the college folded but the area near Plainvew, Texas is still known as Seth Ward, TX 79072. Apparently some people considered Jimmy Dean’s original name or one of the names he used to be Seth Ward, after the town. In my office, I have a photo of the Seth Ward Baptist Church.

Occasionally I am asked about Seth Edmund Ward (1820-1903), who, among other things may have been, together with a business partner, the first rancher in Wyoming. He was from Indiana and active in the Fort Laramie area, although he later moved to Kansas City. A shout-out to Margaret Grant, of the Glenrock, WY branch of the Converse County Library, who wrote me to tell me that in the Annals of Wyoming, Vol. 5, 1927-29, the first article, from July, 1927, is entitled, “Seth Ward.”

The most famous other Seth Ward was involved in the Whitewater scandal.

Then there was the Seth Ward who was an undergraduate at Yale when I was a grad student, whose credit problems occasionally made problems for me, and whose future mother in law called my number instead of his and was surprised when Carol identified herself as my wife.

Facebook reports over 100 hits for “Seth Ward.”

Not sure about other fictional Seth Wards though–the Pirate Treasure book has the first fictional Seth Ward of whom I am aware.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

